Friday, May 13, 2011

Ellsworth County Native is NRHA’s 2011 Rural Health Practitioner of the Year

Congratulations to Dennis Kepka, MD, of Ellsworth County, Kan. He was recognized as NRHA’s 2011 Rural Health Practitioner of the Year.

NRHA Announces 2011 Rural Health Award Recipients

May 10, 2011

The National Rural Health Association (NRHA) has announced its 2011 Rural Health Award recipients who were honored May 5, 2011, during the 34th Annual Rural Health Conference, which attracted more than 900 rural health professionals and students to Austin, Texas.

“We’re proud of this year’s winners,” said Alan Morgan, NRHA CEO. “They have each already made tremendous strides to advance rural health care, and we’re confident they will continue to help improve the lives of rural Americans.”

Dennis Kepka, MD, is NRHA’s 2011 Rural Health Practitioner of the Year. With a passion for rural communities, Kepka and his wife, Jennifer, moved to Ellsworth County, Kan., after practicing elsewhere for several years. During his tenure in his native Ellsworth County, Kepka started three rural health clinics, provided training for more than 30 physician assistant students, has provided prison and jail medical services and was the sole medical provider in the county for 18 months. Kepka has practiced medicine in Ellsworth County for more than 21 years.

No comments:

Post a Comment